It’s The Little Things

Last night, I was at the Youth Group that I volunteer as a leader with.

I spent some time talking and catching up with one of the seventh grade girls who I’ve know for years and in our conversation she said something that opened my eyes.

You see, this girl is what I consider the epitome of joy.

She always has a smile. When she says my name hers voice does a little lift up at the end. She is so kind and genuine to everybody she meets. She’s the type of girl that reminds me of a fairy, like she’s always just a few seconds away from flying away to live with the unicorns and rainbows.

This very girl, had saved up just the right amount of money to pay for state wide youth convention. She has worked hard and earned just the perfect amount of money to pay for it, all year. But last week she turned that money into the youth pastor and told him that she wanted it to go to the missions offering. She gave up state wide convention so that she could give to missions.

She is the type of young lady that just leaks happiness and joy everywhere she goes.

So I was completely surprised when she asked me for advice on how to be more thankful.

Here’s this girl that seems to always radiate positivity and good feelings, and she wanted my advice on how to be a more thankful person.

I mean, did she realize who she was asking?

Let me take a break and explain something to you guys, Developing a relationship with Jesus changed me and my personality 3000%. Before I found God, or He found me however you want to view it, I was a nasty-hearted person. I lived my life with absolutely no intentions. I was bitter and angry about everything and anything. I was really mean, not sarcastic or sassy like some would consider me to be now, but just plain mean. I was living with a lot of hurt and brokenness and I didn’t care who I hurt with it, and while I know that I am not that person anymore, sometimes I think of myself like that. I still think of myself as a mean-hearted, ungrateful, bitter individual. It’s who I lived as for so long, that it’s hard to view myself as anything different. So when this 13 year old girl asked me how to become more thankful, I was initially very confused as to why I was her choice for advise.

So through the course of our conversation, I challenged her to practice writing three things everyday that she was thankful for. Every day three things, if she had more than three that was fine, but no less that three. And I told her that I would do this activity with her.

So starting today, October 24th, 2016, I’m going to post three things everyday, until my birthday, that I am thankful for.

  1. I’m thankful for Jesus, who has changed me and made me into a way better person in more ways than anybody could count.
  2. I’m thankful that I work in a facility that freely and openly encourages the discussion of God and His amazing grace.
  3. I’m thankful for youth students that view me in ways better than I view myself. and remind me that I am no longer the person I was.
Leave a Reply

